press to zoom

press to zoom
1/1

Housed 173 individuals at MCSA

Helped 385 individuals  maintain housing

 
In 2020 We...

Cared &

Offered Hope

Sheltered 68 
from Domestic Violence

MCSA Logo.png

History...

MCSA, a non-profit organization, was established in 1991 to help meet the social needs of the Muscatine area. 

  

A group of private citizens were determined to keep the 36 dorm style rooms on the second floor of the YMCA available for single men in need. The late Richard Maeglin purchased the building with the intention that it might become a center for strategic action within the community. The building was originally referred to as the “Heart of Hearts”, then Muscatine Center for Strategic Action, and is now call Muscatine Center for Social Action.

  

MCSA was formed to make a difference in the quality of life in Muscatine. Specifically, the following unmet needs were identified: housing, poverty, family/domestic violence, barriers to service availability, substance use, and discrimination. 

  

Since its inception, MCSA has continuously worked to establish programs and lay the groundwork for improving lives in the Muscatine area. Early programs and activities included: housing for single men, the Fine Arts Academy, MuscaTEEN Center, clothing closet, a Saturday meal site, site of Muscatine Community College GED and ESL classes, opening the transitional family shelter, selling and relocating houses after the 1993 flood, and housing development on Muscatine’s west side. 

  

Later in 2000, MCSA narrowed its mission to focus on providing services that will tangibly improve the quality of life of those it serves. The mission, as adapted in 2000, was “to provide emergency and temporary shelter, basic health care, and educational and vocational support services for those in need in Muscatine County.”  The programs and projects of the 1990s and early 2000’s were refocused to the mission of helping Muscatine-area homeless get back on their feet through the expansion of case management, along with a focus on skill development and personal responsibility. 

 

In 2005, the Muscatine Pediatric Dental Clinic opened to meet the need for an affordable dental clinic. In 2009, MCSA opened the MCSA Vision Care Clinic, staffed by local volunteer optometrists, under the direction of Dr. Peter Korpi. In 2011, MCSA created systemized programming around homeless prevention. 

 

The Muscatine Domestic Violence Shelter was added to the organization in 2014.This shelter assists those who are fleeing domestic violence.

 

In 2017, the mission was changed to "MCSA provides housing, basic health care, educational and support services for those in need in Muscatine County."

MCSA is poised to continue to fulfill its founders’ original intent, to meet unmet needs within our community, and will continue to evolve and serve. 


Enjoy our 25th Anniversary video highlighting past leaders & friends.

the TEAM

Scott Dahlke, Executive Director

sdahlke@mcsaiowa.org

Karen Heap, Finance Director

kheap@mcsaiowa.org

Jenny Leirness, Resource Development Officer

jleirness@mcsaiowa.org

D'Lynn McDaniel, Administrative Support

dmcdaniel@mcsaiowa.org

Katie Kelly, Housing Stability Program Coordinator

kkelly@mcsaiowa.org

Mya Ribbink, Housing Stability Navigator

mribbink@mcsaiowa.org

Lorena Medina, Operations Manager

lmedina@mcsaiowa.org

 

Teresa Cardoza, Property Manager

tcardoza@mcsaiowa.org

Christopher Shoemaker, Housing Development Specialist

cshoemaker@mcsaiowa.org

Mike Plank, Facilities Manager

mplank@mcsaiowa.org

Dalton Lower, Maintenance Tech

dlower@mcsaiowa.org

 

Judy Yates, Domestic Violence Shelter Manager

jyates@mcsaiowa.org

Shelter Care Workers:

Manny Pulido

Erik Fults

Jaquelyn Lopez-Davidson

Tammy Nesbit

Domestic Violence Shelter Care Workers:

Wanetta Dykema-Sterner

Kharma Truitt

Jenny Landa

Johnnie Kelly

Teresa Chatfield

Alex Cousins

Board of Directors

 
 
 
Paula Durham
Paula Durham
press to zoom
Ron Monahan
Ron Monahan
press to zoom
Naomi DeWinter
Naomi DeWinter
press to zoom
Ron Hartman
Ron Hartman
press to zoom
Chad Adams
Chad Adams
press to zoom
Andy Emmert
Andy Emmert
press to zoom
Mary Jo Finchum
Mary Jo Finchum
press to zoom
Jeff Jarrett
Jeff Jarrett
press to zoom
Angie Johnson
Angie Johnson
press to zoom
Vince Motto
Vince Motto
press to zoom
Kandy Steel
Kandy Steel
press to zoom